HTML5 Publishing!

2456711

Comments

  • adent42adent42 Key Master, Head Chef, Executive Chef, Member, PRO Posts: 3,223

    Yah, it seems the Amazon transcoder is sensitive to minor file corruption. We'll look into ways to help fix that when we can, but @jonmulcahy probably has the best solution.

  • pinkio75pinkio75 Member, PRO Posts: 1,217

    Thank you @jonmulcahy i solved i've a corrupted .ogg file with my game.

  • adent42adent42 Key Master, Head Chef, Executive Chef, Member, PRO Posts: 3,223

    If you end up with a corrupt ogg file, try running oggz's validate command. To install oggz on OSX, you can use homebrew (http://brew.sh/) and run

    brew install oggz
    

    You can validate with:

    oggz validate <filename>
    

    PM me what errors you get so I can see if they can be repaired server side.

  • jay2dxjay2dx Member Posts: 611

    Great news :) thank you GS team

  • FiguromoFiguromo Member, PRO Posts: 42

    Wow! Unexpected and awesome!

  • freneticzfreneticz SwedenMember, PRO Posts: 777
    edited September 2015

    Exactly how to make a playable game, i have generate and download and now what??
    I want to put it on my homepage (one.com) should i zip all files? @adent42
    @iamcartez how did you

  • The_Gamesalad_GuruThe_Gamesalad_Guru Member Posts: 9,922
    edited September 2015

    @adent42 said:
    If you end up with a corrupt ogg file, try running oggz's validate command. To install oggz on OSX, you can use homebrew (http://brew.sh/) and run

    brew install oggz
    

    You can validate with:

    oggz validate <filename>
    

    PM me what errors you get so I can see if they can be repaired server side.

    I'm going to do this. Will let you know. Can you do a batch with that?

  • beefy_clyrobeefy_clyro Member Posts: 5,394

    Time to tag @Photics

  • jonmulcahyjonmulcahy Member, Sous Chef Posts: 10,408

    @jonmulcahy said:
    B)

    quick and dirty, but it works:

    I'm quoting this because i don't feel enough people realize what I did :)

  • iamcarteziamcartez Houston, TexasMember Posts: 648

    @jonmulcahy said:
    I'm quoting this because i don't feel enough people realize what I did :)

    Hahahaha nice! I didn't see that at first either, thought it was just a pretty chrome skin or mamp or something different not an .exe file!!!

  • pinkio75pinkio75 Member, PRO Posts: 1,217
    edited September 2015

    @jonmulcahy
    yes, i've saw in the video that you launch the game like a .exe file...
    but html5 game can't be converted to exe... right? :)

  • tmanntmann Member Posts: 278

    @pinkio75 said:
    yes, i've saw in the video that you launch the game like a .exe file...
    but html5 game can't be converted to exe... right? :)

    Simply package your HTML5 project into a node-webkit standalone.

    There is a good run through of the basics here http://marcostagni.com/distributing-your-html5-game/

  • FrantoFranto Member Posts: 779

    Looks like we got .exe by proxy then. :)

  • MoikMoik Member, PRO Posts: 257
    edited September 2015

    The HTML5 files we get out of publishing; are they editable in notepad like original HTML or PHP?

    [Edit: Ran a quick publish to check myself. It looks like it? I'm not even 50% confident, but I feel like this opens up some modding, such as the possibility of using the Steam API if code can actually be inserted post-publish. I'm just not sure where in which file one would add which hooks though. It'll be something to explore later.]

  • freneticzfreneticz SwedenMember, PRO Posts: 777

    When you got the files, how do you make it playable on a homepage?

  • pinkio75pinkio75 Member, PRO Posts: 1,217

    @freneticz
    You need to upload the unzipped content folder in your server, and after copy the index html address to your browser to play the game!

  • IceboxIcebox Member Posts: 1,485

    Can someone please try the sound pitch on html5 , I increase the sound pitch but it returns back to normal after i publish the game. Is it a bug ?

  • The_Gamesalad_GuruThe_Gamesalad_Guru Member Posts: 9,922
    edited September 2015

    What you need to understand about HTML 5 is many issues you might face won't always be a GS issue. Browser support for HTML 5 is way behind on all browsers. Audio is specifically an issue in this area. There are websites where you can test a browsers HTML 5 capability. Although the standard has been around for a while browser developers have been slow to get up to speed, even though companies like Apple pushed the adoption of the standard, they lag behind too.

    https://html5test.com

  • PhilipCCPhilipCC Encounter Bay, South AustraliaMember Posts: 1,390

    @stanny said:
    Any way to monetize on this?

    Yes. Build a games for a fee for businesses with Websites that would like to engage and entertain their site visitors. An example would be a competition. Have site visitors compete for highest score and post it on the sites blog, or the sites FB page, by uploading a screenshot.

    Just think outside the box of mobile or desktop games and I'm sure you come up with ideas. ;)

  • freneticzfreneticz SwedenMember, PRO Posts: 777
    edited September 2015

    What servers do you guys use
    I uploaded to Google Drive but what adress do i need. dont see any index.html but a sample-index.html

  • CodeWizardCodeWizard Inactive, Chef Emeritus Posts: 1,143

    OMG, use http://heroku.com. Fantastic and inexpensive!

  • IceboxIcebox Member Posts: 1,485

    @Lost_Oasis_Games I didnt know that , I thought it was a GS issue , thanks !

  • pinkio75pinkio75 Member, PRO Posts: 1,217

    @freneticz
    after upload the folder in your server copy the address of your "sample-index.html" in your browser and your game will run.

    @Icebox1910
    about audio file you need to reconvert all audio files in "Wave 44100 Hz Stereo, 16-bit"
    i've used a simple converter program, and brought it back into GS and picked if they were sound or music files.

  • adent42adent42 Key Master, Head Chef, Executive Chef, Member, PRO Posts: 3,223

    @Icebox1910 afaik sound pitch isn't supported on HTML5 (it's a feature of OpenAL I think, which is not available to us on the HTML5 engine)

  • The_Gamesalad_GuruThe_Gamesalad_Guru Member Posts: 9,922

    WAV is not supported in Microsoft explorer. Go figure that one out..lol

  • The_Gamesalad_GuruThe_Gamesalad_Guru Member Posts: 9,922

    @freneticz said:
    What servers do you guys use
    I uploaded to Google Drive but what adress do i need. dont see any index.html but a sample-index.html

    You need a web hosting site. I am using my godaddy site.

  • pinkio75pinkio75 Member, PRO Posts: 1,217

    @adent42
    is possible to add AdMob in html5 games?

  • IceboxIcebox Member Posts: 1,485

    General question , why is the performance of html5 on other sites better than the arcade ? is it a problem on the gs engine or the arcade itself ?

  • freneticzfreneticz SwedenMember, PRO Posts: 777

    Google drive should work? but when i take the adress to sample-index.html it just show a document.

  • The_Gamesalad_GuruThe_Gamesalad_Guru Member Posts: 9,922

    Use the sample frame file.

Sign In or Register to comment.