Spare Code ? Dump It here.

12122242627

Comments

  • ArmellineArmelline Member, PRO Posts: 5,397

    One Scene Platformer

    A demonstration of a way to include multiple levels on the same scene, even when each level is different.

  • ArmellineArmelline Member, PRO Posts: 5,397

    Select Workers

    An easy way to select/deselect multiple units.

  • ArmellineArmelline Member, PRO Posts: 5,397
    edited June 2015

    Display Big Numbers (with commas)

    An unnecessarily long-winded method of displaying numbers too big for GameSalad to display. When viewing big numbers on device, GameSalad doesn't display them in full. This method lets you display them, including adding commas.

    Edit: File removed, see this post for the new file!

  • Braydon_SFXBraydon_SFX Member, Sous Chef, Bowlboy Sidekick Posts: 9,273

    @Armelline is on a roll!

  • ArmellineArmelline Member, PRO Posts: 5,397

    @Braydon_SFX said:
    Armelline is on a roll!

    I have a ton more but thought it best not to spam too many at once :P Mostly little demos made for people in various threads.

  • Braydon_SFXBraydon_SFX Member, Sous Chef, Bowlboy Sidekick Posts: 9,273

    @Armelline said:
    I have a ton more but thought it best not to spam too many at once :P Mostly little demos made for people in various threads.

    Yep, same. I have an entire folder with dozens of project files in them but I don't want to upload them because I think they are too simple. It's already stuff that has been covered before at some point. :P

  • ApprowApprow Member Posts: 703

    You're on fire @Armelline ! Very useful stuff, thanks:)

  • Thunder_ChildThunder_Child Member Posts: 2,343

    @Armelline said:
    Display Big Numbers (with commas)

    An unnecessarily long-winded method of displaying numbers too big for GameSalad to display. When viewing big numbers on device, GameSalad doesn't display them in full. This method lets you display them, including adding commas.

    Awe you are THE man

    Finally commas.

  • RainbrosRainbros Member Posts: 124

    @Armelline said:
    Display Big Numbers (with commas)

    An unnecessarily long-winded method of displaying numbers too big for GameSalad to display. When viewing big numbers on device, GameSalad doesn't display them in full. This method lets you display them, including adding commas.

    Great stuff! But I notice that, when the number is between 1,000 and 10,000, it doesn't display the 0 for some reason, e.g. at 1024 it displays 1,24...

  • SocksSocks London, UK.Member Posts: 12,822

    @Braydon_SFX said:
    Armelline is on a roll!

    +1 !!

  • ArmellineArmelline Member, PRO Posts: 5,397

    @Rainbros said:
    Great stuff! But I notice that, when the number is between 1,000 and 10,000, it doesn't display the 0 for some reason, e.g. at 1024 it displays 1,24...

    Hmm yes, nasty flaw! Will take a look at fixing it tomorrow.

  • ArmellineArmelline Member, PRO Posts: 5,397
    edited June 2015

    //

  • ArmellineArmelline Member, PRO Posts: 5,397
    edited June 2015

    Last one tonight...

    Display Big Numbers (with commas) 4

    The annoying thing about the original methods is that they require a fair bit of effort to adapt into your own project. There are more than a couple of attributes that need to be changed and added.

    This final method avoids all that by hijacking the self.Max Speed attribute and using that. What this means is that you can now just drag the rules from the demo project into your own project, and with a single change it will function in your project.

  • ArmellineArmelline Member, PRO Posts: 5,397

    Concatenate Booleans using .. with one display text and no extra attributes

    Here's an interesting one. Right now you can't concatenate booleans in GameSalad. For most attributes you can say:

    "Attribute is: "..game.Attribute

    You cannot do this for booleans. This demo shows an easy way to display the current state of the boolean, concatenating it like the example above, without using any extra rules, behaviours or attributes. Just one Display Text behaviour.

  • PhilipCCPhilipCC Encounter Bay, South AustraliaMember Posts: 1,390

    @Braydon_SFX said:
    Yep, same. I have an entire folder with dozens of project files in them but I don't want to upload them because I think they are too simple. It's already stuff that has been covered before at some point. :P

    Simple or not, or done before... It doesn't matter. We still love to see them. Often I see something I'd like to use, then someday later when I need it I can't find it anymore. I started filling up a spreadsheet with descriptions and URLs so I could locate stuff, but that started taking up too much time.

    So, that's why threads like this with lots of posts are great. Thanks to everyone who contributes.

  • Braydon_SFXBraydon_SFX Member, Sous Chef, Bowlboy Sidekick Posts: 9,273
    edited July 2015

    Hide Extra Zeros In Custom Font

    A super easy way to hide the extra zeros when using custom font. This does not require any new attributes - it simply requires 1 rule with a textLength() function.

    I apologize if this technique has been posted before - I didn't search through all 24 pages of this thread. : - )

  • SocksSocks London, UK.Member Posts: 12,822

    Wobbly BG (maybe for a title or highscore scene). . . attached:

  • SocksSocks London, UK.Member Posts: 12,822

    Here's a more efficient version of the above, it was already very processor efficient as the dots are produced by the replicate behaviour, but this one is even lighter on the processor . . . and easier to edit.

  • tintrantintran Member Posts: 453

    cool wobble effect.

  • SocksSocks London, UK.Member Posts: 12,822

    @tintran said:
    cool wobble effect.

    Cheers, playing around with the values produces all sorts of interesting things, here are - either - some ocean waves, or some rotating tubes (depending on which way you look at it!). Attached.

  • tatiangtatiang Member, Sous Chef, PRO, Senior Sous-Chef Posts: 11,949

    @Socks said:
    Wobbly BG (maybe for a title or highscore scene). . . attached:

    Kind of looks like a waving flag, too.

  • SocksSocks London, UK.Member Posts: 12,822

    @tatiang said:
    Kind of looks like a waving flag, too.

    Yes! It does look a little 'flaggy' . . . . reminds me of this project from a while back (attached).

  • ArmellineArmelline Member, PRO Posts: 5,397

    @Socks stop with your wizardry.

  • RainbrosRainbros Member Posts: 124
    edited August 2015

    @Socks That flag is simply awesome. Too bad it runs at about 6 FPS on a device :D

    Although, it seems that lowering the number of particles to around 100 makes it usable while maintaining a good visual result.

  • SocksSocks London, UK.Member Posts: 12,822

    @Rainbros said:
    Socks That flag is simply awesome.

    Cheers ! :smile:

    @Rainbros said:
    Too bad it runs at about 6 FPS on a device :D

    Which one ? The BG wavy flaggy type thing uses replicate for all its dots, so has a small processor overhead, it happily runs at 60fps even on an iPad 2 !

    Same deal with the flag on the bendy stick, that one uses particles, which also have a very low processor overhead - that one runs at 60fps on an iPad Air and 60fps on an iPad 2 if you cut the number of particles down a little.

  • SocksSocks London, UK.Member Posts: 12,822

    One more wobbly background, this time it settles.

  • mhedgesmhedges Raised on VCS Member Posts: 634

    @Socks said:
    One more wobbly background, this time it settles.

    Absolutely stunning.

  • neomanneoman Member, BASIC Posts: 826
    edited August 2015

    @floatingwoo said:
    Socks Fun stuff!!

    Looking at that feels like I am in a car wash ... ha ha

Sign In or Register to comment.